Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Power too Strong for Eldridge
Rifle Butts Short Course
Sunday 18th October 2009

A lovely mild morning with a light southerly greeted the small field of riders who fronted for the Rifle Butts Short Course, starting from the Walshes Road intersection on Three Bridges Road, Horsham.

The small numbers of recent races continued, with only 8 riders lining up for the start of the 46km handicap. Meg Parnaby and Larry Bales set off from 14 minutes, chased 7 minutes later by Tom Eldridge and Les Power.

Riding off 3 minutes, Gerard O’Brien and Daryl Elliott rode hard to try to keep Alan Barnett and Danny Monaghan at bay. At the turn onto the Henty Highway, with about 20km to go, Parnaby and Bales had a 2 and one quarter minute lead over Eldridge and Power, with scratch still 5 and half minutes away from the lead.

However, about 8 kilometres later, a few kilometres before Haven, the two front bunches joined, with O’Brien and Elliott a minute and a half behind, and the scratch riders about 40 seconds behind them

With 4 kilometres to go, the scratch and 3 minute riders combined, but it was too late to catch the front group of riders, who still had a good minute lead. Les Power took out the win from Tom Eldridge, with Meg Parnaby third.

Danny Monaghan recorded fastest time of 1 hour 31 minutes.

 
Click to enlarge
Les Power, Meg Parnaby and Tom Eldridge
 
       
Danny, Alan Daryl, Gerard Tom, Les Meg, Larry

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership