Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Kean Leaves Field in his Wake
Laharum, Sunday 17th May 2009

  frank
  Frank Kean
   

Threatening weather appeared to discourage veteran cyclists on Sunday, and a small contingent of only nine riders tackled the 65km Laharum circuit.

The early morning drizzle gave way to a fine morning, but a stiff south-westerly breeze ensured the outward legs would be a true test of strength.

Drew Heard set off with Alan Barnett, Peter Mayo and Les Power with a 5 minute 30 seconds advantage over the scratch bunch, but this group appeared to struggle on the flat stretch towards Wonwondah and were in sight of the scratch bunch shortly after turning south on the Henty Highway.

With Frank Kean pulling strong turns and driving fellow riders Danny Monaghan, Gerard O’Brien, Leon Gibson and Dean Hayward, the scratch bunch reeled in the limit markers just before the Brimpaen turn off.

As the riders approached Woodstock Fields , Kean launched an attack that caught out several riders, and he managed to split the field, in company with Monaghan and Heard.

The race then settled down to a chase by the second group to get back on terms, but despite desperate riding from Gibson, O’Brien and Barnett, Kean’s strength enabled his group to maintain their advantage, and he went on to take out the race ahead of Monaghan and Heard, with O’Brien heading the chase bunch on the line.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership