Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Limit Holds on to Lead
Polkemmet Road Handicap
Sunday 15th November 2009

  meg
  Meg Parnaby
   

A small field of riders rolled up for the 54km Polkemmet handicap. An 8am start due to the club’s heat rule caused some confusion with several riders arriving late, thinking the start time was 8.30am.

Meg Parnaby and Tom Eldridge headed off first, making good time with the help of Eldridge down wind. Peter Parnaby and Tony Lloyd were to follow eight minutes later, but Peter Mayo arrived with six minutes to go, and got organised in time to join them, so they left nine minutes after the limit riders.

With hindsight, that should have remained at eight minutes. These three riders worked well together, but did not sight the limit riders until about 8 kilometres to go, too late to have a chance to haul them in.

Meanwhile, scratch riders Danny Monaghan and Gerard O’Brien were working hard to try to reduce the 3 minute gap to the bunch in front. They had them in sight by the halfway mark, but struggled to make too much more of an impression on the tough homeward leg into a head wind.

Meg Parnaby took out first place ahead of Tom Eldridge, still about a minute and a half ahead of the following riders. Peter Parnaby took out the sprint for third place ahead of Peter Mayo, while the scratch riders were a further minute and a half back.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership