Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Uebergang Shines in the Wet
Rifle Butts Short Course, Sunday 15th March 2009

  mark
  Mark Uebergang
   

Grampians veteran cyclists had an early taste of winter as they tackled Horsham’s Rifle Butts circuit on Sunday morning.

A cold North Westerly wind and blustery showers ensured it would be a tough race for all starters.

Limit markers Mark Uebergang, Shauna Heard and John McIntyre were given a generous 9 ½ minute advantage, and set off at a good pace.

Next away on 6 minutes were Peter Mayo, Les Power and Tom Eldridge, but this group struggled to make ground on limit, and were reeled in by the 2 minute bunch of Gerard O'Brien, Daryl Elliott, Peter Blair, and Stuart King along Rifle Butts Rd. This larger group then set off after the limit group.

Meanwhile the scratch riders Drew Heard, Steve Monks, Harvey Lang and Alan Barnett had made up some ground early in the race, but were then held at bay in the run home by the combined middle markers.

This group in turn failed to close the gap to the limit markers, who finished 100 metres clear, with Uebergang taking out the sprint from McIntyre and Shauna Heard. Harvey Lang took out fastest time of the day with 1 hour 16 minutes 10 seconds.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership