Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to those who have not raced with the Vets in the last 5 years.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

 
Results

Club Races
Heard Powers to Another Win
Stawell Racecourse - Sunday 14th June 2009

  drew heard
  Drew Heard
   

With some riders away at the Stan McPhee/Don Price Memorial at Warrnambool, a small contingent of vets braved the bitterly cold conditions of Stawell on Sunday to tackle the Pomonal-Mokepilly 55km circuit.

Limit markers Tony Lloyd and Peter Mayo rode strongly from their 8 and a half minute mark, and still held a good lead over 2 and half minute markers Daryl Elliott, Gerard O’Brien and Glenn Ford at the Mokepilly turn.

However, the gap closed steadily on the run home, and the two groups seemed likely to combine, which would have made things difficult for the chasing scratch bunch of Dean Hayward, Shaun Prins, Drew Heard and Allan Barnett.

Sensing the danger, Prins and Hayward put in strong turns to close the gap, and with 5km to ride the whole field had come together.

Heading towards the finishing line, Elliott was the first to go, with Mayo on his wheel, but the pair were overtaken by the powerful Drew Heard, who charged on to win from Hayward, with Ford taking out third placing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

meg

Meg Parnaby
found her legs after struggling the day before at the Seymour Open, taking out the Fyans Creek Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
 
2019
Sunday 24th March
Sunday 17th March
Sunday 24th Feb
Sunday 17th Feb
Sunday 10th Feb
 
2018
Sunday 9th Dec
Sunday 2nd Dec
Sunday 25th Nov
Sunday 18th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership