Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Stuart King of the Sprint
Rifle Butts Short Course, Sunday 7th September 2008

  stuart
  Stuart King
   

Having endured rain, hail and strong winds on the previous weekend, Grampians cyclists were pleasantly surprised by a mild spring day on Rifle Butts circuit over 47km.

Limit markers Meg Parnaby and Shauna Heard made good use of their 12 ½ minute handicap, and for a time it seemed they may turn Sunday into Mother’s Day!

However, second scratch riders Peter Parnaby, Mark Ubergang and Harvey Lang had other ideas.

They managed to close the two minute gap to Tom Eldridge, Peter Mayo and Stuart King after 20km, and then, taking advantage of the additional man power to hold off the chasing scratch markers of Drew Heard, Gerard O’Brien, Peter Blair and Allan Barnett, they were able to collar the out markers coming through Bungalally, with about 4km to go.

The pace was high as the combined group turned back into Golf Course Rd with a tail wind, and in a sprint to the line Stuart King proved too strong, beating Lang with Mayo placing third.

The scratch bunch finished shortly after, with Barnett taking out the days fastest time of 1 hour 15 min.

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership