Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Eldridge Triumphant
Rifle Butts Short Course, Sunday 6th July 2008

  tom
  Tom Eldridge
   

Grey skies and an icy North Easterly wind greeted Grampians Cyclists as they prepared to tackle Horsham’s Rifle Butts short course, raced over a 48km circuit on Sunday.

First away on 13 minutes was Les Power in company with new rider David Chugg. The pair combined well out to Lower Norton and over the undulating Nurabiel and Rifle Butts Roads.

However, the duo began to struggle once they turned onto the Henty Highway and were greeted by a strong head wind. They were quickly swept up by the seven minute group of Tom Eldridge, Shauna Heard and Chris Scott.

Meanwhile, the scratch bunch of Gerard O’Brien, Daryl Elliott, Drew Heard and Tony Lloyd teamed very well together, and were able to chase down three minute markers’ Alan Barnett, Stewart King, Peter Mayo and Harvey Lang.

These two bunches joined together shortly after turning onto the Henty Highway. The combined group chased hard, but were never likely to contest the finish, which was taken out by Eldridge ahead of Shauna Heard with Chris Scott third.

The chasing combined scratch and second scratch riders finished several hundred metres in arrears. In the sprint for fastest time, Elliott pipped O’Brien on the line to take out the fastest time of the day with 1 hour, 16 minutes and 35 seconds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then take out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership