Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Polkemmit in a Gentle Mood
Polkemmit Rd, Sunday 5th October 2008

  peter
  Peter Parnaby
   

Mild conditions and a gentle breeze greeted Grampians Vets cyclists for the Polkemmit Road 54km handicap, held last Sunday near Horsham.

Normally a windy course, the gentle conditions were a welcome change.

Riding off 18 minutes, Meg Parnaby and Roger Williams worked well together until about 10km to go, when 4 minute riders Tom Eldridge, Stuart King, Peter Parnaby and Steve Monks overtook them.

They picked up Meg Parnaby as they went past, but shortly afterwards lost the hard working but out of form Eldridge, who was struggling on the hills.

Meanwhile the scratch riders Leon Gibson, Daryl Elliott, Gerard O’Brien, Alan Barnett, Dean Hayward and Chris Scott were gaining ground, and with 6kms to go were about 500m behind.

However the 4 minute riders lifted their pace over the closing stages to hold off the scratch riders, with Stuart King leading out the charge to the line, providing the perfect launch for Peter Parnaby to come over the top with 100m to go and claim the win (thanks Stuart!!).

King finish second with Monks third.

The scratch riders were only 200m behind, with the fastest race time of 1 hour 25 minutes going to Chris Scott.


 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership