Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.


Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VCV.

All riders must be current VCV members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced with the Vets before.

More info on our Membership Page
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Membership Form


VCV Open races can be entered online via the VCV Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.


Club Races
Heard Charges to Victory
Noradjuha/Nurrabiel, Sunday 3rd August 2008

  Drew Heard

Mild temperatures and a gentle northerly wind were a welcome change from the icy mornings of recent weeks, as the riders headed off on the 60km Noradjuha Nurrabiel circuit.

With a start of 13 minutes 30 seconds, limit riders Meg Parnaby, Tom Eldridge and Peter Mayo set off hard to make the most of the tale wind start, but barely got 2km down the road before Mayo punctured.

Mayo quickly changed his tube, but in his hast broke the valve off the new tube, and had to retire.

Second scratch riders Tony Lloyd, Drew Heard, Harvey Lang and Stuart King worked well to haul in the weakened limit bunch with 15 kilometres to go, picking up Parnaby and Eldridge as they went past.

This group continued to keep the pace high to hold off the scratch riders, and with 10km to go still held a good 2 minute 30 second lead.

Scratch riders Leon Gibson, Chris Scott, Alan Barnett, Daryl Elliott and Gerard O’Brien found the 5 minute 30 second gap to second scratch a bit too much to bridge, but managed to get it down to less than 2 minutes by the finish.

Over the last few kilometres, the second scratch riders slowed, as riders tried to recover for the sprint. Tony Lloyd led the sprint out early, but didn’t have the legs to keep it going, and was overtaken by Drew Heard, who blasted his way clear to win easily from Harvey Lang, with Lloyd coming in third.

Click to enlarge
Left to Right - Chris Scott (fastest time) Harvey Lang (2nd) Drew Heard (1st) and Tony Lloyd (3rd)

Chris Scott won the scratch riders sprint for fastest time, recording 1 hour 33 minutes, 45 seconds.






Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races


Terri Clarke
Took out her first race win in the Fyans Creek handicap, ahead of Kevin Grellet and Crystal Wemyss.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 11th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 28th Oct
Sunday 21st Oct
Sunday 14th Oct
Sunday 7th Oct
Sunday 30th Sept
Sunday 23rd Sept
Sunday 16th Sept
Sunday 9th Sept


latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership