>
Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Race Results

Club Races
Drew Heard Powers to Victory
Fyans Creek Rd Handicap - Sunday 30th March 2008

  drew
  Drew Heard
   

A gradually strengthening north westerly and cool conditions greeted the 14 cyclists who fronted for the 44km Fyans Creek Road handicap.

Limit riders Meg Parnaby and Les Power set off first, with 7.5 minute riders Tania Walter and Stuart King in hot pursuit. They reeled in the limit markers just past McCrackens Hill, but shortly afterwards were caught by 3.5 minute riders Leon Gibson, Tony Lloyd and Peter Blair.

Meanwhile the back markers Ian Blackie, Allan Barnett and Frank Kean put in a mighty effort to catch the 1.5 minute riders Gerard O'Brien, Daryl Elliott, Drew Herd and Dean Hayward before McCrackens hill.

This combined group then mowed down all the rest, hitting the front at Mt Dryden, then forging onwards dropping the weaker riders along the way.

With 5km to go, the surviving riders were Gibson, O'Brien, Herd, Kean, Blair, Elliott. Frank Kean lifted the pace on several occasions, testing those who were left, and making sure no one was resting up for the sprint, creating some very tired legs in the process.

 
click to enlarge

Left to right Frank Kean, Gerard O'Brien,
Drew Heard and Peter Blair

 

With 200m to go, Kean darted to the other side of the road, but Heard caught his wheel and powered on to take line honours. Gerard O’Brien managed to slip into second place ahead of Peter Blair in third.

Frank Kean clocked the fastest time of 1 hour 10 minutes 22 seconds.

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then take out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership