Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Results

Club Races
Power Claims Another Victory
Stawell Race Course, Sunday 1st June 2008

  les
  Les Power
   

Still conditions and clear blue skies set the stage for the small field of cyclists who tackled the undualting 61km Stawell race course circuit.

Starting at the Stawell race course, on the Pomonal road just out of Stawell, riders headed out towards Pomonal, before turning north past Lake Fyans to Mokepilly, then onto Halls Gap, and across to Pomonal, before the final dash back to Stawell.

Limit markers Les Power and Meg Parnaby, along with a flu riddled Danny Monaghan made good use of their 11 minute handicap to establish a good lead.

Three minute riders Harvey Lang, Peter Blair and Peter Mayo were within striking distance of the limit riders at the finish, but missed out by 200 metres, with Power sprinting to the line first in a tightly contested finish, taking the win by a narrow margin from Meg Parnaby. The not to well Monaghan limped across the line for third.

The scratch bunch of Gerard O’Brien, Drew Heard and Allan Barnett worked well together, but could not bridge the gap to the goup three minutes in front, and never looked likely to take part in the finish.

Heard took fastest time honours of 1 hour, 41 minutes and 32 seconds.


 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then take out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership