Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Race Results

Club Races
Ron Kelly takes out Easter Handicap
Concongella - Sunday 8th April 07

Due to the Victorian and South Pacific Championships also held at Maryborough over Easter, a very small field contested the club's Easter Handicap.

  ron kelly
  Ron Kelly in winning form.

Starting at the Concongella Hall, the 47km race was held in glorious autumn weather, with a light Northeasterly making the going a little tougher for the first two thirds of the circuit.

By the half way point, the limit pair of Larry Bales and Les Power had been caught by Ron Kelly and Merv Thompson.

The 4 riders worked together for the next 8kms until Larry found the pace a bit tough and dropped off.

Next to go was Merv who started to cramp up one of the long hills. With 6km to go, Ron saw his chance and broke away from Les, opening up a lead of about 300m.

The following pair of Michael Kelly and Dean Hayward couldn't bridge the gap, and backmarkers Gerard O'Brien and Alan Barnett struck trouble when Alan broke his chain.

Ron Kelly worked hard and maintained his lead to the finish, despite a gritty effort by Les Power, who just couldn't find enough to regain the lost ground. Merv Thompson managed to get up for third.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then take out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership