Grampains Vets Cycling Club
navigation bar
new to cycling

cartoon rider
You might like to read our tips on safe riding within a group, as well as general
Cycling Etiquette.

vets_memb

Women 30 years and older and men 35 years and older are eligible to join the VVCC.

All riders must be current VVCC members. Two free try out races (within a 30 day period) are available to people who have never raced before.

More info on our Membership Page
or
Join Online Now.

If you do not have access to online membership please use the old form

Download
Membership Form

vvcc_open

VVCC Open races can be entered online via the VVCC Website

Entries can now only be done online. New riders need to have completed 3 club races before you can enter an Open.

Race Results

Club Races
Elliott and Rooney Win Scratch Races
Horsham - Sunday 15th July 07

  daryl
  Daryl Elliott
   

A very small field of 8 riders braved the cold for the A and B grade scratch races held at Horsham.

Apart from the cool conditions, riding conditions were very good, as there was very little breeze. Even the section between Natimuk Road to Noradjuha was unusually kind thanks to the very slight Northerly breeze.

Rugged up against the cold, B grade riders Shauna Heard, Ted McKabe, Roger Williams and Graeme Rooney were first to leave the Walsh's Road intersection.  They stayed together until Noradjuha.

This is where Rooney finally realised it was a scratch race and not a handicap event.  He changed tactics and left his team mates behind. Rooney placed first, averaging 32kph and finished 2 minutes ahead of Shauna Heard who rode well to finish second. Williams proved that he is regaining some form by holding well with McKabe.

A grade riders Stuart King, Daryl Elliott, Allan Barnett and Tony Lloyd were well matched and averaged 37.5kph over the course. They met Rooney 10 kilometres from home and our handicapper took note that Rooney was able to keep up with them and take a few turns up front.

All four A grade riders were involved in the sprint across the finishing line. Again, Elliott proved he is one of our strongest riders by placing first. King crossed in second place.


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

training

Looking for some company to share the kilometres with?

There are usually Training Groups leaving both Stawell and Horsham at regular weekly times.

club races

peter

Peter Mayo

Combined with Kevin Grellet to keep the field at bay, then took out the 43.5km Xmas Handicap.

Latest Race Details

links to past races
2017
Sunday 10th Dec
Sunday 3rd Dec
Sunday 26th Nov
Sunday 19th Nov
Sunday 12th Nov
Sunday 4th Nov
Sunday 8th October
Sunday 1st October
Sunday 24th Sept
Sunday 17th Sept
Sunday 10th Sept
Sunday 27th Aug
Sunday 20th Aug
Sunday 13th Aug
Sunday 18th June
 

Archives

latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership latest news about us race calendar race results training aggregate race rules race etiquette contact us membership